The Short Answer
The RIVER 2 Pro's 768Wh and 1600W output still beat every RIVER 3-family unit on raw capacity and power, so it remains worth buying if you find one at a good price, but the RIVER 3 line wins on charge speed, quieter operation, and the newer <10ms UPS spec. The RIVER 2 Max sits in the middle and is the closer like-for-like match to the RIVER 3 Plus.
Two generations of the same product line, sitting side by side on the same warehouse shelf, and shoppers keep assuming newer automatically means better in every column. It doesn't, not here. Here's the honest comparison after selling both lines into real Filipino households.
The Numbers That Actually Matter
| Spec | RIVER 2 Pro | RIVER 2 Max | RIVER 3 Plus |
|---|---|---|---|
| Capacity | 768Wh | 512Wh | 286Wh |
| Rated output | Up to 1600W | 500W (1000W surge) | 600W (1200W X-Boost) |
| AC charge time (0-100%) | 70 minutes | Standard speed, no X-Stream | ~1 hour to 80% |
| UPS switchover | Not specified as <10ms | Not specified as <10ms | <10ms |
| Cycle life | 3,000+ to 80% | 3,000+ to 80% | 3,000+ (LFP) |
The RIVER 2 Pro's 768Wh and 1600W rated output actually out-muscle the entire current RIVER 3 family, including the RIVER 3 Max Plus's 858Wh (and that number requires the expansion battery attached; the base unit alone is 572Wh). If pure watt-hours and rated wattage are your only criteria, the RIVER 2 Pro remains the better buy, full stop, and it's worth checking current stock and pricing before assuming "newer generation" wins by default.
Where the RIVER 3 Line Actually Improves Things
The generational upgrades aren't cosmetic, they're real, just narrower than the marketing implies:
- Sub-10ms UPS switchover on the RIVER 3 Plus and Max Plus specifically, a spec the RIVER 2 line doesn't carry at the same tier.
- Quieter operation, EcoFlow rates the RIVER 3 family around 30dB thanks to X-GaNPower electronics, noticeably quieter than most RIVER 2-generation units under load.
- Modular expansion via Pogo Pin, the RIVER 3 Max and Max Plus clip on extra batteries without cables, a genuinely more convenient system than the RIVER 2 line's expansion approach.
- 2x runtime for sub-100W loads, meaning small continuous draws (routers, lamps) stretch further per Wh than on RIVER 2-generation hardware.
The RIVER 2 Max Middle Ground
At 512Wh and 500W rated (1000W surge), the RIVER 2 Max sits closest in spirit to the RIVER 3 Plus, both are mid-tier, household-office-sized units. The RIVER 2 Max's solar input tops out at 220W through an 11-50V/13A MPPT range, matching the RIVER 3 Max Plus's ceiling closely, so pairing it with our 160W solar panel works just as well on either generation.
Verdict: Should You Buy RIVER 2 or RIVER 3?
If a RIVER 2 Pro is in stock at a genuinely lower price than a comparable RIVER 3 Max, and raw capacity and rated wattage matter more to you than switchover speed and noise level, the RIVER 2 Pro is not an outdated compromise, it's arguably the stronger spec sheet. If quiet operation, the fastest UPS spec, or tool-free expansion matter more, the RIVER 3 line, detailed fully in our RIVER 3 family guide, is the newer, quieter pick.